Smashing Pumpkins caused some buzz earlier this month by sharing a series of countdown clocks. The first clock stuck ZERO last night and with it came two new songs.

Embedded below is “Cyr” and “The Colour of Love,” which marks the first new music from the band in 18 years to feature founding members Billy Corgan, Jimmy Chamberlin and James Iha.

Corgan told The Tennessean in early February the band would be releasing a double album featuring 21 tracks this year and said, “This is the first real album [since the reunion] where we’ve hunkered down and made a classic, ‘Let’s throw it all at the wall and see what happens’ type of Pumpkins record. I’ve been working on it for over a year.” So far, a release date has yet to be announced.

As for those aforementioned countdown clocks, a new one has been added to the original list. Each countdown clock with expire at midnight ET on the following dates: September 18, October 9, October 30, November 20 and December 7.



“The Colour of Love”


17 Albums That Turn 25 in 2020

Erica Banas is a rock/classic rock news blogger who's well-versed in etiquette and extraordinarily nice. #TransRightsAreHumanRights