LOS ANGELES, CA - FEBRUARY 15: (L-R) Singer Alice Cooper, actor/musician Johnny Depp and musician Joe Perry of Hollywood Vampires perform onstage during The 58th GRAMMY Awards at Staples Center on February 15, 2016 in Los Angeles, California. (Photo by Larry Busacca/Getty Images for NARAS)

The Hollywood Vampires have officially risen and have shared with us news of a new album and unleashed its first single.

Rise, the band’s second studio album, comes out June 21 and is available for pre-order in multiple formats and on multiple platforms. Its first single, the menacing “Who’s Laughing Now” and features vocals from both Alice Cooper and Johnny Depp, can be heard below.

Unlike their self-titled debut that featured primarily covers with a few original songs, Rise is the exact opposite and features mostly original tracks and only a handful of covers. Each “Vampire” gets a cover, with Depp singing David Bowie‘s “Heroes,” Cooper singing the Jim Carroll Band track “People Who Died” and Joe Perry taking lead vocals on the Johnny Thunder‘s song “You Can’t Put Your Arms Around A Memory.” The album also features guest appearances by Jeff Beck and John Waters on the track “Welcome To Bushwackers.”

In a statement on the album, Cooper said, “‘Rise’ is not only a totally different animal than the first Vampires album, it is unique to anything I’ve ever been a part of. I approached it very differently than I usually do when working on an album. Each of us; Joe, Johnny, Tommy and myself have written songs on this album. What is different though is that I didn’t try to change any songs to be more “Alice-like.” Because each of us has different influences, the sound of this album is very cool. I think that with this album, we are establishing what the Vampires’ sound really is, whereas with the first album we were more tipping our hats to our fallen rock n roll brothers.”

Perry added, “’Rise’ came from pure creative energy, which is just like playing live with the Vampires. The record showcases everyone doing what they do best without anyone looking over our shoulders. There was no pressure or deadlines, allowing us to write and record an album that is one of the freest and most honest sounding records I’ve been part of. I can’t wait to perform some of these tunes live for our fans.”

Speaking of performing live, the band only has a select number of performances scheduled for May. Hopefully, with a new album, this means more tour dates will be announced in the near future.

Hollywood Vampires – Rise – Track Listing

1. I Want My Now
2. Good People Are Hard To Find
3. Who’s Laughing Now
4. How The Glass Fell
5. The Boogieman Surprise
6. Welcome To Bushwackers (feat. Jeff Beck & John Waters)
7. The Wrong Bandage
8. You Can’t Put Your Arms Around A Memory
9. Git From Round Me
10. Heroes
11. A Pitiful Beauty
12. New Threat
13. Mr. Spider
14. We Gotta Rise
15. People Who Died
16. Congratulations


Erica Banas is a rock/classic rock blogger. The first man she ever loved was Jack Daniel.  (True story.)

Erica Banas is a rock/classic rock news blogger who's well-versed in etiquette and extraordinarily nice. #TransRightsAreHumanRights

Sign me up for the 101 WRIF Cybercrew email newsletter!

Join the 101 WRIF Cybercrew to get everything that rocks sent right to your inbox from The Riff! You’ll get updates on concerts and your favorite bands, along with exclusive chances to win. Plus news and stories from all around metro Detroit!

By clicking "Subscribe" I agree to the website's terms of Service and Privacy Policy. I understand I can unsubscribe at any time.