Shinedown’s Brent Smith and Zach Myers have announced their side project, Smith & Myers, is releasing its first LP and has offered up two tracks as a preview.

Due out October 9, Smith & Myers Volume 1 features ten tracks comprised of five new, original tunes and five covers. A full track listing can be viewed below.

One of the new tracks, “Not Mad Enough,” can be heard below and was written following the murder of George Floyd by Minneapolis Police Officer Derek Chauvin. The other track previewed below is a cover of the Neil Young classic “Rockin’ In The Free World.”

In a statement on the album, Smith said, “We’ve spent a great deal of time and energy making sure this project is completely authentic. The main reason Smith & Myers exists has to do with the fans. A project that was born from multiple requests over the years has now evolved into its true identity. Make no mistake — it’s about the songs, it’s about the story, and above all it’s about the message.”

Myers said in a statement, “It was an odd time to make a record at the beginning of a global pandemic, but the state of the world is reflected in the art we made on this album. It was some of the most creative times I’ve ever had as a musician or a songwriter. For the covers, we felt that we should approach them as a duo as if we had written the song modern day. With the originals, Brent and I had never discussed some of this subject matter before and we dug so deep while also touching on a world that’s rapidly changing around us the last eight months. We felt it would be disingenuous not to touch on social issues we ALL face as humans. We put a lot into this album and we truly hope you enjoy listening to it.”

Smith & Myers Volume 1 is available for pre-order/pre-save here.

“Not Mad Enough”


“Rockin’ In The Free World”

Smith & Myers – Smith & Myers Volume 1 – Track Listing

1. Not Mad Enough
2. Rockin’ In The Free World (Neil Young cover)
3. The Weight of It All
4. Better Now (Post Malone cover)
5. Panic
6. Never Tear Us Apart (INXS cover)
7. Coast To Coast
8. Valerie (Amy Winehouse cover)
9. Since You Were Mine
10. Unchained Melody (Righteous Brothers cover)

GALLERY: Most Played Songs on Rock Radio in the 2010s

Erica Banas is a rock/classic rock news blogger who's well-versed in etiquette and extraordinarily nice. #TransRightsAreHumanRights