Photo by Duane Prokop/Getty Images

Halestorm’s Latest Covers EP Out Now

Out today (January 6) is ReAniMate 3: The CoVeRs eP, the third EP of covers by Halestorm.

The six-song set includes the group's take on Whitesnake's "Still Of The Night," Joan Jett & the Blackhearts' "I Hate Myself For Loving You," Soundgarden's "Fell On Black Days," Metallica's "Ride the Lightning," labelmate Twenty One Pilots' "Heathens" and Sophie B. Hawkins "Damn I Wish I Was Your Lover."

Frontwoman Lzzy Hale tells us that the covers EPs are nice projects for the group to do between albums and keep the quartet invigorated and engaged in making music as well as offering a chance to show its musical range:

"I've put myself in a position in this life and my career where everything is extremely unpredictable. What I'm hoping for, besides just to continue and not have everything come to a screeching halt...We're finally getting a little bit of credibility in the hard rock and even the metal world. We're getting a little bit of that going on, which we're extremely humbled by. I don't even know what we consider ourselves. We are rock. Are we hard rock? I dunno. But also a lot of other doors have opened for us in other genres, too. And our fans have been incredibly supportive."


Halestorm is currently on the road in New Zealand and is expected to announce more concert dates soon as well as begin work on its next studio album.


Gary Graff is an award-winning music journalist who not only covers music but has written books on Bob Seger, Neil Young and Bruce Springsteen.