Photo by Theo Wargo/Getty Images

Pearl Jam Invites Snubbed Drummers To Rock Hall Induction Ceremony

Pearl Jam has took it upon itself to do right by the drummers who have played in the band.

After the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame snubbed former drummers Dave Abbruzzese, Jack Irons and Matt Chamberlain for induction, Pearl Jam released an open letter via social media inviting the three -- as well as original drummer Dave Krusen and current drummer Matt Cameron, who the Rock Hall designated for induction -- to the ceremony on April 7 in Brooklyn, writing that "while awards and accolades are understandably subjective and a countless number of our peers have yet to be inducted, we do feel fortunate to be recognized and provided the opportunity to reunite with everyone who has been part of the group -- specifically the drummers who all left their distinctive mark on our band in the pre-Matt Cameron years. Dave Krusen, Matt Chamberlain, Dave Abbruzzese and jack irons are each individually great players who gave their all to the early recordings and live gigs. Looking forward to seeing them and all the other musicians on the bill."

Note From Pearl Jam

Note From Pearl Jam

Abbruzzese -- who's been particularly vocal about his exclusion -- Irons, who was previous inducted with the Red Hot Chili Peppers, and Chamberlain have not responded to the invitation, nor is it known if the Rock Hall has changed its mind and will induct any or all of them.

Pearl Jam will be inducted with Yes, Journey, ELO, Joan Baez and Tupac Shakur, with Chic founder Nile Rodgers receiving a special honor. The ceremony will film the ceremony for broadcast on April 29.


Gary Graff is an award-winning music journalist who not only covers music but has written books on Bob Seger, Neil Young and Bruce Springsteen.